Service Awards

We invite you to nominate outstanding colleagues, volunteers, project teams, or libraries for an Arizona Library Association Service Award. AzLA membership and an MLIS degree is not required to nominate or receive a service award.

View the award information below or click here to download a PDF with the descriptions and criteria.

Awardees will be recognized at the 2024 AzLA Conference during the Service Awards luncheon on Friday, October 18, 2024. Tickets for the luncheon are complimentary for any awardee not already registered to attend the conference. Any guests of the attendee will need to purchase a ticket to the Service Awards luncheon (link coming soon).

Please note: Each nomination will require a separate form. Nominations require a written description of how the nominee meets the criteria for the award and one letter of recommendation from an additional source. You have the option of submitting a second letter of recommendation from an additional source, if desired.

Scroll to the bottom of this page to view information and application link for the Louise A. Stephens Memorial Scholarship.

Deadline for all nominations and scholarship application is August 2, 2024.

Contact with questions.

Louise A. Stephens Memorial Scholarship

Louise Stephens, a graduate of the University of Arizona School of Information, worked for Glendale Public Library for 30 years, retiring in January 2007. During that time she served as a children’s librarian and library manager. Throughout her career, Louise was active in the Arizona Library Association, serving as its Association President, Public Library Division President, and Awards Chair at various times. In 2001 she was named the association’s Librarian of the Year, and in 2007, she received the Rosenzweig Award for distinguished service. Louise advocated for libraries as a centerpiece of a community as well as the need to network with other librarians as the forces to keep those institutions running. Louise passed away in July 2007, and an endowed scholarship was established in her memory. The Arizona Library Association is charged with administering the scholarship fund, endowed with the University of Arizona Foundation.

Recipient receives a certificate from AzLA and a monetary award ($2,000) from the Louise A. Stephens Scholarship Fund.

Eligibility Requirements

  1. Arizona Resident.
  2. Student in good standing, enrolled or admitted to the iSchool M.A. program for a minimum of six (6) credit hours in a semester.
  3. Current Member of the Arizona Library Association at any level (student, full, etc.)
  4. A completed Louise A. Stephens Memorial Scholarship application.

Deadline for nominations is August 2, 2024.

Arizona Library Association

Building Strong Libraries Together

7760 E State Route 69
Ste C5 #385
Prescott Valley, AZ 86314

(928) 288-2011

AzLA Mobile App (Android) AzLA Mobile App (iOS)
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software